One day off turned into a few days off. I lol.


What’s been going on since I’ve been away from the online world? Well…

I finished reading Hitchens’ No One Left To Lie To: The Values of the Worst Family. He nailed not only the Clintons. He called out the various disparate component groups of the American Left, the Republicans, the so-called mainstream media, and intellectuals/talking heads. It wasn’t just breathtaking. It was everything I’d ever thought about the Clintons and American politics in general… and why… and then some. I didn’t trust, respect, or admire the Clintons from day one, and it had nothing to do with the jersey they wore. As people I instinctively knew they were rotten, more rotten and malignant than almost anyone else of power or influence in western politics. I may be in the nonpartisan minority, to be sure, but it’s some small comfort that I’m in good company.

I also discovered my ex-wife has been having me on about “vacation” days. As per our divorce agreement, we share custody, and the kids split time between us on a schedule. Up to fourteen days a year we can take time off (from childcare) to go on vacation or whatever. Apparently, she’s been dishonest with me about stuff, and I’m going to have to confront her soon and tell her she is minus two days (that I know of) because she willfully disobeyed the judge-approved and enforceable terms of our agreement. I wouldn’t mind really but for that when it comes to me taking time off she is absolutely strict and unyielding. I really don’t like this kind of thing, but it’s something I have to deal with.

I’ve also been out enjoying the weather a bit. The past few days have been really beautiful, cool. When the hurricanes stroll across the Atlantic and up the eastern seaboard or into the Gulf it really does improve inland weather dramatically. People’ve told me that’s insensitive and mean that I say that. My response is that if those who live in those parts of the country don’t realize by now that there are going to be hurricanes and floods every fall and that it’s going to rough their lives up and maybe cost lives and billions of dollars to repair, then they have something wrong with them. That’s like living in Kansas or Iowa and complaining about all the tornadoes. I am reminded of the old George Carlin quote: “If you don’t like the weather, move.”

I wrote a segment of dialogue for Garden Variety. It’s a bit where the retired serial killer speaks to the town’s Catholic priest in the confessional booth and he comes out and says what he is and the problem he’s having. The dialogue wanders and hobbles about, but it’s a start. It’s cementing a few notions, ruling others out finally, and giving me a few new ideas for nuance.

That’s the big stuff that’s been going on. I’s not much really. I just needed the time away. It’s good to log out for a while every so often.

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One day off turned into a few days off. I lol.

  1. amkuska says:

    Aww, what a rough few days you’ve been having. Take it easy, get everything sorted, and then come back to us! ^^

Leave a Reply

