the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune


Late last night, I half woke up briefly for some reason. That happens sometimes. When it does, I check my phone to see the time. I noticed I had an email. So I checked it. It was from the director of the show I auditioned for on Monday. I didn’t make it into the show. I’d anticipated that. I went back to sleep. I checked again this morning, just to make sure I’d not just dreamt it. That I dreamt I’d awakened happens sometimes as well. But no, it was real. I didn’t make the show. I’ll work on personal projects until whatever winds up the next audition.

I’ve been resisting all conversation about politics lately. It seems developments of all sorts on that front are, well, an affront to many of my friends and acquaintances. I’m going to sit it out for as long as I can. If there was a chance for honest discussion, it’d be different. There isn’t, really. So I won’t put myself through it. I’ll be the change I want to see. That’s my original M.O.. Maybe it will go viral.

There’s a lot out there written about America’s “creativity deficit”. It’s not anything new. I noticed it starting in the very early 1990s, and that means it probably had its roots somewhere in the 1980s. In many ways it’s the fault of Jimmy Carter forming the U.S. Department of Education, the introduction of colossal bureaucracy, with its emphasis on classification, standardization, qualification, etc., to the nation’s education system. Putting such a behemoth of paperwork, experts, appointees, and authority over education sucked billions upon billions of dollars out of classrooms in every state and locale. It all but eliminated flexibility in teaching and instruction, suborning local administrative and student behavior to a far away, disconnected, soulless, impersonal government regulatory agency. Creativity, drawing outside the lines and thinking outside the box, was scorned in favor of a one-size-fits-all approach where everyone had to conform to what education theoreticians in Washington, DC decreed. Education became Big Business. Students became products, to be made to specification. We’re almost forty years out from the DoE’s creation, and they’re wondering why their many schemes and plans still haven’t worked. So they’re going to ask for more money and more authority, the same thing they’ve always done, and hope that finally does the trick. Maybe the new push for creativity’s resurrection will have an effect. Let’s hope so.

I watched the film After.Life yesterday. It was a good film. I recommend it. Liam Neeson and Christina Ricci were excellent. It was a really dark film, one of the darkest I’ve seen a long time. I may buy it later for my collection. There are quite a few others I have to pick up first. I have quite a list.

This entry was posted in Personal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

